New Discoveries

As mentioned in the “about me” section… I live in East Tennessee, where my husband of (almost) 8 years and I are raising our 4 year old daughter. After discussing my current job, working in social media, he encouraged me to start this blog. So…here we go!

Let’s start by discussing this past weekend. Mine was fabulous.

Husband and I went on a date on Saturday night. We try to go out about once a month if we can find a babysitter. It really helps our relationship to spend time together, without our kid, every so often.

We started with dinner at 5 Bar. This is my favorite restaurant downtown. I love the atmosphere, the service is usually great, and it’s located next door to our favorite movie theater, where we spend most of our date nights.

At this particular meal, I decided to try bourbon for the first time. My beloved Husband is from Lynchburg, TN (where Jack Daniel’s is made). As I’m sure you’ve guessed, this idea didn’t sit well with him. He knows I’ve never liked Jack, why would I want to try bourbon?

Nevertheless, she persisted.

FullSizeRender

I asked the waiter for a recommendation, and based on my desire for good quality at a reasonable price, he suggested Bulleit. After one sip, I was hooked! Much to the dismay of Husband, of course.

We finished dinner and made our way to the movie theater for the 7:00 show of Beauty and the Beast. Husband is a huge Disney fan, so of course he loved it. I like Disney too, but I love Emma Watson and Josh Gad. We both had a great time.

After dinner, we ventured over to The Mezz, the upstairs bar at a favorite local restaurant, Cafe 4. Having explained to the bartender my newfound (3 hours old) love of Bulleit bourbon, he recommended I try an Old Fashioned. It was amazing! I will definitely be adding this recipe to my repertoire, very soon.

Sunday was spent running errands and catching up on laundry…but even the simplest things can make for great family time for our little trio. One exciting bit was going to see the progress on the house we’re building…but I’ll save that for another post.

Thanks for stopping by!

Until next time,

LHB

One thought on “New Discoveries

  1. Pingback: Likes, Loves, & Needs: May | Lindsay Overshares

Leave a Reply

