Hear Me Out

Music calms the chaos in my soul. -lindsayovershares

I love music, as many of my closest friends can attest. As a child, my preferred style was country music which later progressed to favorites like Nirvana and my newest obsession, Passenger.

When one of my favorite groups, Drew Holcomb and the Neighbors, released their newest album, I knew I couldn’t pass up the opportunity to discuss it here!

Drew Holcomb is a Memphis native and attended college at the University of Tennessee here in Knoxville. While attending UT, Drew met his future wife as well as the folks who would become his band mates. They began touring extensively and put out several albums, the most notable of which was 2013’s Good Light.

They saw another hit with Medicine in 2015. That brings us to today’s release of Souvenir.

Capture

(image credit: Paste)

I love this band’s sound. It’s described as Americana, relying heavily on guitar, harmonica, and drums…not to mention the smooth and soulful vocals of Mr. Holcomb and occasionally his wife, Ellie.

Here’s the track list:

  1. The Morning Song
  2. California
  3. Fight for Love
  4. Rowdy Heart, Broken Wing
  5. New Year
  6. Sometimes
  7. Mama’s Sunshine, Daddy’s Rain
  8. Black and Blue
  9. Postcard Memories
  10. Yellow Rose of Santa Fe
  11. Wild World

Upon first listen, my favorite song is definitely “New Year.” Substream Magazine describes the song as a “lovely and upbeat mid-tempo song about the endless possibilities found in the arrival of a new year.”

Husband surprised me with a record player for Christmas. When I found out this album was available on vinyl, I made sure to snatch up a copy. I can’t wait to break the record player out after The Big Move (more on that later, I promise) and start spinning this one!

Do you have any recommendations for new music I should try? Let me know in the comments.

Until next time,

LHB

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

