I Found Love in an Instant

On a whim recently, after only a bit of discussion, Husband decided to purchase an Instant Pot. What is this contraption? In short, it’s a modern day combination pressure cooker/slow cooker. You can brown meats in it, cook meals in record time, and it’s the ultimate one-pot solution for short-on-time weeknights. For a more in-depth review, check out this article on Kitchn.

FullSizeRender

I will admit, I was a bit apprehensive when the box was delivered. I’m not a very good cook, and new kitchen gadgets are usually left to Husband’s domain.

However, once I started looking up recipes on the beloved Pinterest, I got a little brave and wanted to try it out. There’s always Pizza Hut if it doesn’t work out, right?

We decided to tackle the first dinner as a team, on a Sunday night. We made pulled pork and macaroni and cheese. The pulled pork was good, but all 3 of us loved the macaroni!

On average, including prep time, meals in the Instant Pot are taking around 45 minutes to 1 hour to cook. That may seem like a while, but compared to an all-day slow cooker meal, or having to spend extra money (not to mention calories) eating dinner out when you hadn’t planned on it – it’s a great deal.

We’ve made several other meals in the past few weeks and I can highly recommend all of them. Check out my Under Pressure board to find a few favorites along with some inspiration. Last night I made my lunch for the week, unstuffed peppersin around an hour including browning 2 pounds of meat. I can’t wait to heat them up later today.

Have you tried out an Instant Pot? What are your favorite recipes? Let me know in the comments.

Until next time,

LHB

 

4 thoughts on “I Found Love in an Instant

  1. I don’t have one like this that you can also “brown” in, but I use my Crock pretty much every week. Roasts are especially tender & also cook the veggies at the same time. I put everything in it in the mid-morning , love the smell all day &….BOOM…Dinner’s ready late afternoon or early evening . Guess I know I need to spend some time getting a stack of my favorite recipes for you to try ! xoxoxoxo

    Like

Leave a Reply

