Sweet Summertime

Summertime is always the best of what might be. – Charles Bowden

I love summertime. I know it’s getting close when I book my first “blonde highlights” appointment with my hairdresser. The days are longer, there’s more sunlight, and a general feeling of contentment begins to fill my days.

A couple of weekends ago, was the perfect summer weekend for us. It was exhausting and will be hard to live up to, but we will do our best to try in the weeks we have left.

On Friday after work, I took Boo over to Oak Ridge for the Secret City Festival. I was specifically going to see one of my favorite bands, The Black Lillies, perform. I’d seen on the event schedule that there were some children’s activities so I knew we’d want to check those out, too.

This was our first visit to the festival, now in it’s 35th year. It’s my understanding that the programming was a little different than in previous years – but we still had a blast!

The Cattywampus Puppet Council kept us entertained after dinner followed by Dave Eggar and his friends.

IMG_0440

Husband was in the process of flying home after a week of work travel, so we were thrilled that he ended up being able to join us for the fun.

After some playtime at their amazing area park, I tore Boo away from the fun to check out the reason I’d come to the festival – The Black Lillies performance. It was fabulous. We can’t wait for the 2018 schedule of events to be released, and hopefully will be able to attend at least one day.

On Saturday, we visited Dollywood with friends. We recently bought our first-ever family season passes and were anxious to put them to use. We had a wonderful day playing, eating, and enjoying great company. We are already planning our return trip!

IMG_0472

On Sunday, we ventured over to the pool near our new house where I’ve purchased a summer membership. Our first visit was on Memorial Day and it was just a bit too chilly in the water for my liking. At this visit, with temps over 80 degrees, the weather was just right, perfect for an afternoon of swimming.

We left hot, tired, and hungry so we called it quits early. All 3 of us love spending time together at the pool, and Boo is getting more adventurous and confident. We look forward to a summer spent snacking and swimming as much as possible!

What have you been up to this summer? What’s your favorite way to enjoy this time of year? Tell me about it in the comments!

Until next time,

LHB

Leave a Reply

