The Bible According To Rob Bell

I recently saw a post on Instagram from my beloved Glennon Doyle about fellow author Rob Bell‘s latest book and the profound impact it had on her. It’s called What is the Bible? How an Ancient Library of Poems, Letters, and Stories Can Transform the Way You Think and Feel About Everything.

Capture

Courtesy of Missio Alliance

The title of the book intrigued me, so I chose to use 1 book credit on my new Audible account (thanks, Amazon Prime Day) to purchase it. The audiobook is around 6.5 hours long. I began listening to it in the car last week, and now I refuse to listen to anything else until I’ve completed it. I love Rob’s narration and his interpretation of the Bible.

I will let you look into him on your own and come to your own conclusions about what he believes, his interpretation of the Bible, and his theological background. I will say that what this New York Times best-selling author and former pastor of Mars Hill Bible Church is saying really resonates with me and I am definitely interested in checking out more of his books.

In my initial Google searches, I realized Rob would be coming to speak at our fantastic Bijou Theatre this week. I jumped at the chance to go, and after confirming that Husband was not traveling for work this week, started scoping out ticket options. I convinced him to join me for a week-night date and we were off.

Most people from Knoxville, who have gotten the chance to attend a show at the Bijou, love it. The acoustics are amazing and the venue feels quaint and allows a more personal connection with the artist or performer, despite being able to accommodate 700 people when at full capacity.

Rob Bell was no exception. Despite sitting in the balcony, a few rows up, we could still see him perfectly. As I found out, he’s also REALLY tall, so that definitely helped. The rest of the audience seemed to enjoy him as well, with lots of “amens”, hoots, and affirmations shared loudly throughout the night. His speech was nearly 2 hours long and I hung on every word. I am so glad I didn’t miss this opportunity!

Rob’s book and subsequent speech has sparked in me a desire to work harder on my own spiritual path and I am forever grateful. If this has piqued your interest, I would encourage you to check him out. If not, please look forward to another installment of Lindsay Overshares soon!

Until next time,

LHB

Leave a Reply

